Awards & Honors


Project Hospitality’s integrated service delivery program to high risk individuals was profiled by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in its 1995 National Compendium of Models That Work: An Innovative Primary Health Care Program for Underserved and Vulnerable Populations. In 1995, the agency was a finalist in the Maxwell Award for Excellence in Housing from the Fannie Mae Foundation. In 1999, the U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) awarded Project Hospitality the Best Practice Award for Integrated HIV Care.

Additional Awards and Honors:

•    Brook Russell Astor Award, 2008
•    Food Bank New York City Can-Do Award, 2007
•    New York Life Foundation 2006 Award presented to Project Hospitality for the Eye Openers Youth Program
•    2004 selected for inclusion in Best Practices publication on HIV mental health services by New York State AIDS Institute.
•    Dannon (Yogurt) Institute, 2003 Awards for Excellence in Community Nutrition, Sixth Place in National Competition – Recognized for our Consumer Choice Nutrition Mart
•    2002 World AIDS Day Award for Distinguished Service, New York City Department of Health
•    2002 Richard Wells Memorial Award: Agency of the Year from Food for Survival, the Food Bank for New York City
•    2002 Union Square Award from the Fund for the City of New York for Project Hospitality’s work on the formation of El Centro de Hospitalidad
•    2002 Special Fund Project Award from the United Hospital Fund
•    1999 and 1993 Innovative Project Award from the United Hospital Fund
•    1999 New York Urban League’s Mills Skinner Award for Health and Social Welfare
•    1997 Outstanding Service Award from the New York State Department of Health, AIDS Institute
•    1996 New York City Community Development Award
•    1996 Citation for Services at the Soup Kitchen from the New York City Council
•    1995 Distinguished Service Award from New York AIDS Interfaith
•    1992 Stop the Violence Award, City of New York
•    1987 Eleanor Roosevelt Service Award, New York State Office of the Governor